WhatsApp Privacy Policy Deadline on 15th May: No Account Deletion

WhatsApp has scrapped its 15th May deadline for users to accept its controversial privacy policy update and said not accepting the terms will not lead to deletion of users account.

WhatsApp had faced backlash over users concerns that data was being shared with its parent company Facebook. A WhatsApp spokesperson told that no accounts will be deleted on 15th May for not accepting the new policy.

The spokesperson said in an emailed response to a query on Friday that, “No accounts will be deleted on 15th May because of this update and no one in India will lose functionality of WhatsApp either. We will follow up with reminders to people over the next several weeks.”

WhatsApp Privacy Policy Deadline on 15th May No Account Deletion
WhatsApp Privacy Policy Deadline on 15th May

The spokesperson added that while a “majority of users who have received the new terms of service have accepted them”, some people have not had the chance to do so yet.

However, the company did not clarify the reason behind the decision and did not unfold the number of users who have accepted the new terms of policy so far.

Advertisement

WhatsApp Privacy Policy

Back In January this year, WhatsApp had informed users about the changes in its terms of service and privacy policy through an in-app notification. Users were initially given time till 8th February to agree to the new terms.

The WhatsApp spokesperson said the company has spent last few months working to “clear up confusion and misinformation”.

“As a reminder, this update does not impact the privacy of personal messages for anyone. Our goal is to provide information about new options we are building that people will have, to message a business on WhatsApp, in the future” the spokesperson said.

According to WhatsApp, the key updates include more information about its service and how it processes user data; how businesses can use Facebook hosted services to store and manage their WhatsApp chats; and how WhatsApp partners with Facebook to offer integrations across the company products.

However, user backlash over WhatsApp’s alleged sharing of user information with Facebook forced the company to postpone the February deadline to May 15.

Advertisement

Following backlash faced by WhatsApp earlier this year, the popularity of rivals like Telegram and Signal surged as users thronged these platforms.

If you didn’t accept the New Privacy Policy

You can still answer incoming voice and video calls, and reply to messages from notifications (you can only send text messages) in the first few weeks, but you cannot open the chat list because there is the reminder about the Terms of Service.

There are other features you will not be able to use, if you don’t accept the new Privacy Policy:

  • You won’t be able to send new status updates within the application.
  • You cannot export your chat history.
  • It’s not possible to forward messages from a chat to another one.
  • You cannot manage and use broadcast lists and create new groups, but you can still be added in groups from other people.
  • You cannot quote messages or mention participants in your groups, and you cannot send voice messages, stickers and other type of media within the application.
  • If you have iOS, you cannot view shared media anymore, if you haven’t previously exported them. On WhatsApp for Android you can still view your media using a File Manager visiting the new path.
  • You won’t be able to back up your chat history, if you have disabled the automatic backup.
  • You cannot use the service Click To Chat.

Users can still consider to accept the Terms of Service to use WhatsApp again because WhatsApp won’t delete your account if you don’t accept the terms, but the only way to use WhatsApp with all its features is to accept them.

Leave a Comment